Apply Give Visit Find case.edu RSS feed Find us on Facebook LinkedIn Videos on Youtube Videos on iTunes Follow us on Twitter

Category Research Guides

Ohio Zoning Law: Selected Treatises

Ohio Planning and Zoning Law (handbook), Print: Law Reference KFO 458.O38 2011 ed.; Westlaw, OHPLZL

Ohio Appellate Practice (handbook), Print: Law Reference KFO 555.A4 2011-2012 ed.; Westlaw, OHAPP: Chapter 9: Appeals from Administrative Proceedings

James Klein and Stanton G. Darling, II. Civil Practice (Baldwin’s Ohio Practice), Print: Law Reference KFO 529.K58 2004-; Westlaw,  OHPRAC-CIV (several sections mention/discuss Civil Rule 12(B)(6))

John E. Gotherman, Harold W. Babbit, and James F. Lang. Local Government Law — Municipal (Baldwin’s Ohio Practice), Print: Law Reference KFO.431.A6 G67 2004- ; Westlaw, OHMUNL): Chapter 25: Platting, Planning and Zoning

Arbitration, Labor and Global Employment: Quick Guide

Sources for most/all topics

  • CWRU online catalog
  • OhioLINK: catalog, Electronic Journal Center, ebooks, and research databases (especially Ebscohost web, Academic Index, Business Source, land Legal Collection)
  • SSRN: pre-publication articles and working papers
  • PERC: CWRU Law students may request a research consultation with a librarian

Paper Topics Suggested by Prof. Sharpe

Arbitration Policy

Arbitration in Antiquity

Arbitration in Religious Traditions

The Policy Implications of Pre-Dispute Arbitration Agreements

  • twelve articles on pre-dispute arbitration (for HeinOnline  subscribers)
  • five articles on pre-dispute commercial arbitration (Legal Collection, OhioLINK)

Judicial Review of Arbitration Awards

Fee Splitting/Green Tree Financial

  • seven articles on arbitration and Green Tree Financial (Legal Collection)

Is Baseball Arbitration Interest Arbitration?

  • five articles on baseball and interest arbitration (Business Source, OhioLINK)

Are Class Actions in Mandatory Arbitration Good Public Policy?

Arbitrability/CompuCredit Corp v. Greenwood

  • Michael Q. Cannon. Note. Greenwood v. CompuCredit Corp.: The Ninth Circuit’s Misdirected Interpretation of the Credit Repair Organizations Act.
    2011 B.Y.U.L. Rev. 67
    (2011).

Arbitration Fairness Act(AFA)

  • Bill texts, and related legislative documents, of the Arbitration Fairness Acts of 2009 and 2011, the Consumer Fairness Act of 2009, and the Fair Arbitration Act of 2011 are available from Thomas (search multiple Congresses) at the Library of Congress. U.S. Code and Congressional Administrative News (USCCAN, via Westlaw) and Proquest Congressional Index are also very useful for researching legislative history

Labor and Global Employment

Migrant Workers

Globalization and Extraterritoriality

Gender and International Labor Standards

Child Labor

The Role of the United States in Promoting International Labor Standards.

A Critique of the NAFTA Model

Corporate Codes/Effectiveness

Physician Payment Sunshine Provisions: Three Steps to Begin Your Research

On January 16, 2012, the New York Times published an article by Robert Pear entitled, U.S. to Force Drug Firms to Report Money Paid to Doctors.

The article is about an important provision of the Patient Protection Affordable Care Act that will have significant implications for physicians and academic medical centers. Frequently referred to as the  Physician Payment Sunshine Provisions, these portions of the Affordable Care Act require that that drug, medical device, biologic, and medical equipment manufacturers that produce any products covered by Medicare or Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program must annually report all payments made to doctors and hospitals.

The disclosure requirement also includes annual reporting of physician ownership, or investment interest by physicians or their immediate family members, in these providers, as well as information on any payments or other transfers of value provided to a physician. These changes are being implemented for important reasons: studies have shown that doctors receiving financial benefits from companies often practice medicine differently from those who do not, which could put patient safety at risk. Also, the Congressional Budget Office has determined that disclosure will, over time, reduce spending by decreasing instances of over prescribing.

To become familiar with the issues underlying this provision, you could begin with books and journal databases here at Case.

Bernard Lo and Marilyn J. Field, eds., Conflict of Interest in Medical Research, Education, and Practice (2009).
HCL Stacks, W50 C748ci 2009

Michael Davis and Andrew Stark, eds., Conflict of Interest in the Professions (2001).
Law Stacks, BJ1725.C66 2001

Roy G. Spece, Jr., David S. Shimm, Allen E. Buchanan, eds., Conflicts of Interest in Clinical Practice and Research ( 1996).
Law Stacks, R724 .C627 1996

Use Research Databases such as HeinOnline, Academic Search Complete and CINAHL Plus, for law review and  health sciences journal articles. Lexis and Westlaw are also good options for this process. Remember to check footnotes and references for additional articles and prominent authors:

David J. Rothman & Susan Chimonas, Academic Medical Centers’ Conflict of Interest Policies, JAMA, Nov. 24, 2010, at 2294.

Bryan A. Liang & Tim Mackey, Confronting Conflict:  Addressing Institutional Conflicts of Interest in Academic Medical Centers, 36 Am. J. L & Med. 136 (2010).

Kevin Weinfurt, Mark Hall, N. Chantelle Hardy, et al., Oversight of Financial Conflicts of Interest in Commercially Sponsored Research in Academic and Nonacademic Settings, 25 J. Gen. Intern. Med. 460 (2010)

Jennifer Henderson & John Smith, Financial Conflict of Interest in Medical Research:  Overview and Analysis of Federal and State Controls, 57 Food & Drug L.J. 445 (2002).

Nancy J. Moore, What Doctors Can Learn from Lawyers About Conflicts of Interest, 81 B.U.L. Rev. 445 (2001).

 

Stay informed throughout the research project:

Law students have full access to Bloomberg BNA which includes many medical and health industry reports.    Medical Devices Law and Industry Report, a bi-weekly report, goes back to 2007.  Conveniently, BloombergBNA gives you the option of receiving e-mail announcements of new developments.  To receive e-mail updates, select Getting Started at the top of the report you want to read and follow the instructions.

SOPA, PIPA, Anti-Piracy Legislation: Issue Backgrounder

The English-language Wikipedia is ‘dark’ today, in protest against a set of bills (nick-named SOPA in the House and PIPA in the Senate). These bills are intended to create new tools to address both the online commerce in copyright-infringing works and of counterfeit goods (i.e. both Copyright Act and Lanham Act violations). In particular, they aim to target the use of foreign-registered websites for “piracy,” although opponents point to several ways in which domestic websites can also be affected.

Along with Wikipedia, other websites (such as the “social news site” Reddit, are down for the day with a place-holder page urging visitors to protest the two bills. Google’s search site remains live today, but the usual “Google doodle” version of its logo is replaced by a blackout stamp “censoring” the logo. Normally clicking on a “Google doodle” performs a Google search for information about the subject or topic of the doodle. Today, it instead links to a Google-hosted advocacy page in opposition to SOPA and PIPA. Google has also taken the unusual step of slowing the Googlebot, so that sites that have gone dark today in protest of the two bills will see less negative impact on their search rankings.

While much of the technology industry is now engaging is such an unusual protest of the proposed legislation, the bills had already advanced fairly far in the legislative process with the backing of “content industry” associations (the MPAA, ASCAP, AAP, etc.), but also of a wide array of business and labor organizations motivated by the economic importance of U.S. intellectual property and a perceived need for stronger anti-piracy tools—particularly tools capable of reaching foreign sites.

As a result of the uproar in the Internet community, some news reports as of today indicate that DNS blocking may be removed from the bills.

(We provided a “quick guide” to SOPA in December, but given the rapid movement on this legislation, this additional “backgrounder” seems to be in order.)

Politics

While many contested issues have a clear partisan alignment, this graphic from ProPublica makes it very easy to visualize just how bipartisan both the support and the opposition to these bills is within Congress.

Bill Sources and Tracking

SOPA, 112 H.R.3261, the Stop Online Piracy Act is the House version of the legislation. As usual, Thomas is an excellent tool for tracking the legislation.

PIPA, 112 S. 968, the Preventing Real Online Threats to Economic Creativity and Theft of Intellectual Property Act of 2011, is the Senate version of the legislation. The Senate legislation was reported out of the Committee on the Judiciary. S. Rep. No. 112-39 (2011), recommending passage.

For CWRU affiliates, Proquest Congressional (subscription electronic resource) is likely the best source to access the text of the several hearings related to the two bills in this Congress. Selecting the “Search by Number” tab and entering either the House or Senate bill number will display links to the hearings in each house of Congress, respectively.

S. 3804, the Combating Online Infringement and Counterfeits Act was the version of the legislation introduced in the previous (111th) Congress. It was also reported out of committee. S. Rep. No. 111-373.

A handful of Senate opponents of PIPA have introduced S. 2029, Online Protection and Enforcement of Digital Trade Act, to demonstrate an alternative approach.

Issue Analyses

Neutral

  • Information on S. 968: PIPA, at OpenCongress.org.

    Includes a (very) short summary, lists supporting and opposing companies and organizations, and gathers links to news coverage. Note that this is neutral in content, but Opencongress.org, itself, is an opponent of SOPA/PIPA.

  • Declan McCollagh, How SOPA Would Affect You: FAQ, CNET.com.

In Favor

In Opposition

Scholarly Articles

Selected Other Items

Much of the most fervent opposition has been related to the provisions of the bills that would create a procedure to compell removal of targeted websites from the databases of DNS and search-engine operators within the United States. Opponents argue that this would be over-broad, and impose major compliance burdens on linking sites, search engines, and any websites hosting user-created content. Opponents have have also argued the likelihood of unintended technical consequences that would “break the Internet.”

It is at the very least interesting to note that this is a move that might seem to cut against the logic of U.S. efforts (via the structure of ICANN, discussed in a previous quick guide) to keep foreign governments or transnational organizations away from political influence on at least the global level of DNS management. (Though other nations can and do manipulate DNS within their territorial jurisdiction and for their domestic users.)

ICANN and New Top-Level Domains

ICANN, the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers has begun to accept applications to operate new “generic Top-Level Domains.” A “top-level” domain amounts to the right-most portion of a domain name, after the final dot. Venerable examples of “generic” top-level domains include .com, .edu, .net, and .org. Applicants are to propose new TLDs while applying to be the entity that will maintain a registry of that nominated domain. Unlike previous additions of new TLDs, the new policy does not merely envision a specific one-time expansion of the namespace, but instead creates a policy mechanism for continued, possibly rapid, expansion of the number of TLDs in use.

It is expected that hundreds of new generic Top-Level Domains will be added to the familiar batch we’ve used since the emergence of popular Internet applications. This is a major development in the system of non-state, non-national, governance centered around ICANN. While ICANN has concluded that the expansion of the available “name space” is a progressive and pro-competitive move for the Internet, the action is controversial, with major IP rights-holders and some consumer groups expressing particular qualms. At times, ICANN has also been in tension with elements in the U.S. government over its plans to extend the range of gTLDs, exposing the complicated issues around the degree of control U.S. policy-makers can or should exercise over global Internet governance.

The new generic TLDs will not only be more numerous, but will allow for domains in non-Latin language characters.

What ICANN does

ICANN is the body that governs Internet name-spaces—both the numeric IP addresses that uniquely identify all “hosts” on the network and the mapping of human-readable domain names to that system of network addresses. ICANN is a not-for-profit corporation formed only in 1998, and operates as the top-level governing body for coordination of names and addresses on the Internet.

The status of ICANN is complicated. It is a formally a California non-profit corporation, but seeks to build a global stake-holder network and operate as a global institution. Its functions can only be described as “governance,” yet it is a private-sector entity and is not a trans-national or multi-national organization. ICANN also represents, simultaneously, the deliberate devolution by the United States of the routine authority over Internet naming and the retention of at least potential ultimate control—the domain name system ultimately descended from systems derived under U.S. Defense Department contracts, and through a series of documented understandings with ICANN the U.S. government seems to have ceded vast amounts of control while retaining some unique leverage. Indeed, ICANN may be seen as in part the product of U.S. efforts to disentangle itself from the actual running of the Internet (and the politics involved in that) while avoiding the capture of Internet governance by an international body that would potentially share control with other governments.

While the management of country-code domains are assigned by ICANN to a registry and registrar selected by the government of a sovereign nation, the management of the ‘generic’ top-level domains can be assigned by ICANN (technically through its control of IANA) to a wider range of for-profit or non-profit operators who become responsible for the assignment and coordination of names within the “registry” for that top-level domain. These are alternately referred to as registry operators or NICs (Network Information Centers). Verisign, for instance, has long operated the registry for the .com and .net domains (it acquired Network Solutions, the early (pre-ICANN) operator of these domains, in 2000, and has retained Network Solution’s NIC business). Registrars, as opposed to the registry operators, are entities authorized to register a domain within one or more registries. Registrars must be accredited both by ICANN and by the registry operators for the top-level domains for which they operate. Major registrars who operate within multiple TLDs include GoDaddy, Network Solutions (the business that was sold off by Verisign after the 2000 acquisition), Register.com, and many others. Registrars (many of which are also in the separate web-hosting business) are the businesses with which an end-user in need of a domain for a new website will work.

The following lists point to selected resources of specific interest in light of new gTLDs and ICANN’s status to implement them. This is not a full annotated bibliography of work related to domain name regulation. (Though one of those is in the works.)

Documents

  • Letter to ICANN, Lawrence E. Strickling, U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information

    While disclaiming any effort to interfrere with the results of ICANN’s “six-year international multistakeholder process,” the letter urges ICANN to consider additional measures, including to minimize the need for defensive registrations.

  • News Accounts of the expanded gTLD launch

    • Bloomberg story focuses on the potential windfall for registrars.
    • Reuters reports generally on the expansion and the industry and law enforcement criticisms of it.
    • NPR stories give a solid general account of the controversy (especially concerns about increased use of defensive registrations) and a focus on the contested status of ICANN in global Internet governance (including a discussion of the upcoming International Telecommunication Union meeting).
    • The second NPR story, above, is criticized by Milton Mueller in a posting on the blog of the Internet Governance Project. In particular, Mueller argues that the NPR story badly mis-characterizes the ITU and the history of foreign and trans-national responses to the U.S. role in Internet governance.

    Background

    Background Books on ICANN and DNS

    • Mueller, Milton, Ruling the Root: Internet Governance and the Taming of Cyberspace, Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press, 2002
      TK5105.875.I57M845 2002

      The classic book-length history of the management of the system of names and number on the Internet, focused on a deep analysis of the process that gave rise to ICANN in the late 1990s.

    • Goldsmith, Jack L. and Tim Wu, Who Controls the Internet? Illusions of a Borderless World, New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
      HM 851 .G65 2006

      Relatively little of this book is devoted to name-space issues, but its third chapter is a fascinating account of formative conflicts in early (pre-ICANN) management of Internet domain name management.

    • Mathiason, John, Internet Governance: The New Frontier of Global Institutions, London: Routledge, 2009
      TK5105.875.I57 M3678 2009

      Chapters 4 and 6, particularly, cover name-space issues (the formation of ICANN and the current operation of ICANN, respectively).

    • Mueller, Milton L., Networks and States: The Global Politics of Internet Governance, Cambridge: MIT Press, 2010
      Recent Purchase: Not Yet Cataloged.

    Background Articles on ICANN and DNS

    • Susan Crawford, The ICANN Experiment, 12 Cardozo J. of Intl. & Comp. Law 409 (2004).
    • A. Michael Froomkin, Wrong Turn in Cyberspace: Using ICANN to Route Around the APA and the Constitution, 50 Duke L. J. 17 (2000).

      Includes an account of how the U.S. government came to possess the original authority over the name root in the first place, and proceeds to argue that the attempt to vest that governance role in ICANN is a delegation of rule-making authority that violates both the Administrative Procedure Act and the Constitution.

    • The Future of Internet Governance (Panel Discussion), 101 Am. Soc’y Int’l L. Proc. 201 (2007).

      Discussion, moderated by Tim Wu, between ICANN board member Esther Dyson, law professor Michael Froomkin, David Gross of the U.S. Dept. of State, and Miriam Sapiro of Summit Strategies Internation.

    • A. Michael Froomkin, Almost Free: An Analysis of ICANN’s ‘Affirmation of Commitments,’ 9 J. On Telecomm. & High Tech L. 187 (2011).

      An analysis of the 2009 revision of the arrangement between ICANN and the U.S. Department of Commerce, which aimed to further the transition of control of the DNS into the ‘privatized’ hands of ICANN. Includes a post-script addressing the recent conflict between ICANN and the Dept. of Commerce over the increase in gTLDs.

    New gTLDs and Domain-Name/Trademark Issues

    • J.D. Lipton, Bad Faith in Cyberspace: Grounding Domain Name Theory in Trademark, Property, and Restitution, 23 Harvard J. of Law & Tech. 447 (2010).

      Not strictly focused on the forthcoming namespace expansion, this is the one of the author’s several works on domain name issues recent enough to take full account of the gTLD expansion.

    • Christine Haight Fairley, Convergence and Incongruence: Trademark Law and ICANN’s Introduction of New Generic Top-Level Domains, 25 J. Marshall J. Computer & Info. L., 626 (2009)

      Focuses on (and critiques) those recommendations in the draft final report of the Generic Names Supporting Organization (ICANNs sub-group for policy work on the gTLDs) that adopt trademark-law concepts. In particular, Prof. Fairley argues that gTLDs are very different, for trademark-related purposes, than second-level domains.

    • Brian W. Borchert (student note), Imminent Domain Name: The Technological Land-Grab and ICANN’s Lifting of Domain Name Restrictions, 45 Val. U.L. Rev. 505 (2010-2011)

      Discusses the approaches to abusive domain name registration, the likely impact of ICANN’s policy of expansion of the domain name space.

    • Dennis S. Prahl and Eric Null, The New Generic Top-Level Domain Program: A New Era of Risk for Trademark Owners and the Internet, 101 Trademark Reporter 1757 (2011).

      Practical elucidation of the process that new gTLD applicants will have to navigate, and of the available options to oppose particular new gTLDs. Also includes a detailed account of the organized opposition (e.g. by the Association of National Advertisers) to the new gTLDs.

    • Look for a forthcoming post to include a bibliography and guide to the regime for managing domain name disputes and contested domain-names, for trademark and other reasons

    ICANN Materials

    ICANN web portal for new gTLDs, including materials for potential registry applicants: http://newgtlds.icann.org/en/

    DNS Control and Intellectual Property

    Look for a forthcoming post on the SOPA and PIPA anti-piracy legislation to include a short list of articles and commentary on the implications of DNS management for control of copyright and other intellectual property (beyond the trademark issues mentioned above).

  • Strait of Hormuz

    Reuters: EU Agrees to Embargo on Iranian Crude (Jan. 4, 2011)

    White House: Iran’s Threats Are Bid to Distract (video, Jan. 3, 2011)

    U.S. Energy Information Agency, World Oil Transit Chokepoints

    Wikipedia: Strait of Hormuz

    Lawrence Goldstein and Michael Makovsky, Iran, Oil, and the Carter Doctrine, The Weekly Standard Blog (Aug. 13, 2010)

    - “Let our position be absolutely clear: An attempt by any outside force to gain control of the Persian Gulf region will be regarded as an assault on the vital interests of the United States of America, and such an assault will be repelled by any means necessary, including military force.” (Carter Doctrine)

    Giacomo Luciani. “Restrictions of Passage, Accidents and Oil Transportation Norms: Impact on Supply Security.” SSRN.com

    Caitlin Talmade. “Closing Time: Assessing the Iraninan Threat to the Strait of Hormuz.” 33 International Security 82 (2008).

    Legal Articles (via HeinOnline for subscribers)

    Geoffrey F. Gresh. “Traversing the Persian Gauntlet: U.S. Naval Projection and the Strait of Hormuz,” 34 Fletcher Forum of World Affairs 41 (2010).

    Tara Murphy. “Security Challenges in the 21st Century Global Commons,” 5 Yale Journal of International Affairs 28 (2010).

    Dr. Shapour S. Milan. “Innocent Passage through the Strait of Hormuz,” 40/41 RHDI: Revue Hellenique de Droit International 247 (1987-1988).

    S.H. Amin. “The Regime of International Straits: Legal Implications for the Strait of Hormuz,” 12 Journal of Maritime Law & Commerce 387 (1980-1981).

    Selected Books

    Donald R. Rothwell and Tim Stephens. The International Law of the Sea. Oxford; Portland, OR: Hart, 2010.

    - includes several references to “straits” in the context of the Law of the Sea and international law

    Armory B. Lovins, et al. Winning the Oil Endgame: Innovation for Profits, Jobs and Security. Snowmass, CO: Rocky Mountain Institute, 2004.

    - Peer-reviewed report, sponsored in part by the Pentagon, claims the United States can end its dependence on oil imported from the Persian Gulf by building more efficient motor vehicles, maximizing the current and future use of natural gas supplies, and improving energy efficiency throughout the nation.

    “Strategic Reversal: The United States, Iran, and the Middle East.” In George Friedman. The Next Decade: Where We’ve Been — and Where We’re Going. New York: Doubleday, 2011, at 105-119.

    - International forecaster George Friedman, founder of STATFOR, claims the United States must “seek accommodation with Iran,” a perceived strategic and moral threat, in the manner that Roosevelt allied with Russia and Nixon worked with China. Despite mutual enmity, both countries have a desire to maintain the transit of oil through the Strait of Hormuz. (pp. 112-113)