Apply Give Visit Find case.edu RSS feed Find us on Facebook LinkedIn Videos on Youtube Videos on iTunes Follow us on Twitter
Loading
 

Finding U.S. Legislative Resources

Statutes

Public Laws (“Slip Laws”)

When Congress passes a law, it is published as a “slip law.”  Slip laws are not indexed in paper.

  • PDF and text slip laws from the 104th to present Congress are available on FDsys.
  • Paper issues are the third floor of the library in Range 46.  The law library keeps the paper slip laws until the bound Statutes at Large arrive.  Consult the catalog for details.

Statutes at Large

At the end of each session of Congress, the slip laws are compiled into the Statutes at Large bound volumes.  Each volume contains an index, though covering that year only.

  • Digitally signed PDF versions and text versions of the 2003 to present editions are available on FDsys.
  • Electronic PDF versions of the 1951 to 1980 editions are available in the “Additional Government Publications” area of FDsys. These volumes were scanned by the Library of Congress.
  • Paper volumes from the 42nd (1873) to present Congress are on the third floor of the library in Range 46.  Consult the catalog for details.

United States Code

The Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives produces the United States Code, a “consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.”  A new edition is released every six years, but the actual volumes are not available until years after the date on the edition.   The final volumes of the United States Code are its index.

  • PDF and text versions of the 1994 to present editions are available on FDsys.  The more recent PDFs are digitally signed.
  • Paper volumes for 2006 (the current edition) are on the third floor of the library in Range 46.
  • Paper volumes for 2000, 1994, 1988, 1976, 1970, 19641958, 1952, 1946, and 1940 are in the Richey Reading Room.
  • West Publishing’s United States Code Annotated is in the reserve area of the library.  It is updated with pocket parts and replacement volumes.  Consult the catalog for details.
  • Lawyers Co-operative Publishing Company’s United States Code Service is on the third floor of the library at SA 5 F32.  It is updated with pocket parts and replacement volumes.  Consult the catalog for details.

United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN)

West Publishing reprints the public laws, adds legislative history, and publishes it as United States Code Congressional and Administrative News. USCCAN has monthly supplements, which are replaced by bound volumes.  According to the Library of Congress, “USCCAN contains major committee reports and sometimes Presidential signing statements as part of its Legislative History section for the public laws.”   The monthly supplements have indices and there is an annual index.

  • The library has USCCAN volumes from 1941 (77th Congress) to present.
  • Paper supplements and volumes for the two most recent Congresses are in the reserve area of the library at S A2.5
  • Paper volumes for prior Congresses are on the third floor of the library at S A2.5 (Range 46).

Regulations

Federal Register

Agencies authorized to make regulations submit proposed and final regulations for publication in the Federal Register.   The Federal Register also includes agency  notices and presidential documents, such as executive orders.  There is a monthly index for the paper issues of the Federal Register.   The microfiche edition has an annual index.

  • PDF versions of 1994 to present are available on FDsys.
  • Federalregister.gov is a current awareness site.  It is not official, but it contains links to the official documents.
  • Hein Online has the Federal Register from 1936 to the present.  This resource is only available on campus (or via Case VPN)
  • Paper volumes for the most recent 20 years are in the Richey Reading Room at KF 70 .A2
  • Microfiche for 1980-1987 are in the Richey Reading Room at KF 70 .A2
  • CIS publishes The Federal Register Index in print.  This resource is available in the Richey Reading room at KF 70 .A2 suppl.

Code of Federal Regulations

The National Archives’ Office of the Federal Register produces the Code of Federal Regulations, which codifies the permanent regulations published in the Federal Register.  A non-permanent regulation, such as a regulation closing a river to boat traffic on a specific date, would not be codified.  Volume three, also known as “The President” is not replaced when a new edition is published.  Each year, an index volume is published.

  • Digitally signed PDF versions and text versions of 1996 to current editions are available on FDsys.
  • Hein Online has the CFR from 1938 to the present.  This resource is only available on campus (or via Case VPN).
  • Paper volumes for the current year are in the reference area at KF 70 .A3.
  • Paper copies of volume 3 (the President) for 1936 to present are in the reference area at KF 70 .A3.
  • Paper volumes for the previous three years are in the Richey Reading Room at KF 70 .A3.
  • Paper indexes for 1966 to the year prior to the current year are in the Richey Reading Room at KF 70 .A3
  • Microfiche from 1979 through 1986, 1999 (partial) – 2009 (partial) are in the microform area at KF 70.A3.

LSA, List of CFR Sections Affected

Every month, the Office of the Federal Register produces List of Sections Affected, which provides Federal Register page numbers where one can find changes made to specific sections of the Code of Federal Regulations since the most recent replacement volume was published.  Each quarter (typically March, June, September, and December), an issue is published that is to be kept for reference.

  • Digitally signed PDF versions of 1997-present issues are available on FDsys.
  • Hein Online has the LSA from 1958 to 2010. This resource is only available on campus (or via Case VPN).
  • Paper issues for the current year are in the reference area at KF 70 .A34 C6
  • Paper “save” issues for1995 to the year prior to the current year are bound and kept in the Richey Reading Room at KF 70 .A34 C6
  • Paper cumulative LSA for 1986 to 2000 published by the Office of the Federal Register is with the bound paper “save” issues.

Congressional Publications

Bills and Resolutions

According to FDsys, Bills and joint resolutions are proposals that must pass in both the House and Senate and be signed by the president to become law.  Concurrent resolutions, Senate Resolutions, and House Resolutions do not require the president’s signature, and they “do not have the force of law.”  A cumulative finding aid was received with the microfiche version.  It is located on top of the microform cabinets.

  • Digitally signed PDF and text versions from the 103rd to current Congress are available on FDsys.
  • Library of Congress’s THOMAS offers bill tracking and links to the PDF bills on FDsys.
  • Microfiche from 98th to 108th (partial) Congresses are in the microform area at Y 1.4/

House and Senate Committee Reports and Documents (Serial Set)

House and Senate Documents can include committee reports and reports of executive departments and agencies.  The Senate treaty and executive documents contain the text of treaties as “submitted to the U.S. Senate for ratification by the President of the United States.”  Periodically, the House and Senate Reports are compiled into the “Serial Set.”  The published version is sent to a small number of libraries.  Most libraries receive title pages and instructions for reorganizing their documents into volumes they can then have bound.  Libraries that receive the documents in microfiche receive microfiche title pages and divider cards for turning their documents into the Serial Set.

  • Digitally signed PDF versions of “selected House, Senate, and treaty documents” from the 99th to current Congress are available on FDsys.
  • ProQuest Congressional includes the Serial Set  from 1789 to 1969.  This resource is only available on campus (or via Case VPN).
  • The Law Library has purchased additional electronic Serial Set volumes.  Stay tuned for further information!
  • The Law Library has House and Senate Reports and Documents from the 96th to current Congresses.
  • Microfiche Senate Documents are in the Richey Reading Room at Y 1.1/3:
  • Microfiche Senate Treaties are in the Richey Reading Room at Y 1.1/4:
  • Microfiche Senate Reports are in the Richey Reading Room at Y 1.1/5:
  • Microfiche Senate Executive Reports are in the Richey Reading Room at Y 1.1/6:
  • Microfiche House Documents are in the Richey Reading Room at Y 1.1/7:
  • Microfiche House Reports are in the Richey Reading Room at Y 1.1/8:
  • Microfiche for Congresses that have been compiled into the Serial Set are organized by Serial Set volume number with the prefix Y 1.1/2:
  • Paper Serial Set volumes are available at Kelvin Smith Library.

Committee Hearings and Prints

Congressional Committee Prints are publications issued by Congressional Committees that include topics related to their legislative or research activities, as well as other matters such as memorial tributes.”  They are indexed in the CIS Index to Congressional Publications, which comes out a calendar year after its cover date.  The library has the 1970 through current index in the Richey Reading Room at  KF 49 .C62.

  • Prints: PDF and text versions from the 104th to current Congress are available on FDsys.   The more recent PDFs are digitally signed.
  • Hearings: Digitally signed PDF and text versions from the 106th to current Congress are available on FDsys.
  • Paper and microfiche hearings and prints from the 101st to current Congress are in the Richey Reading Room.  Each hearing is cataloged as a separate title, so one may find them using the catalog.  They are classified in the SuDoc classification system and their classification numbers begin with Y 4.  For those who like to browse, I am preparing a list of committees and their classification numbers (available shortly).

Congressional Debates and Proceedings

Records of Congressional proceedings were published by commercial publishers until 1873, when the United States Government Printing Office started publishing the Congressional Record. Richard J. McKinney of the Federal Reserve Board Law Library has written an article,  An Overview of the Congressional Record and Its Predecessor Publications, which provides information about the history of the following publications.

Journals of the Continental Congress

Papers of the Continental Congress

  • Microfilm from 1774 to 1789 is available at J 10 .A5 1980.  Its index is in the first seven reels.  An explanation to the index is on the first reel, page V.

Secret Journals of the Acts & Proceedings of Congress

Annals of Congress

  • The Library of Congress has a digital version.
  • Microfilm from 1789 to 1824 is available at KF 35 .U58. There is an index at the beginning of each session of Congress.

Register of Debates

  • The Library of Congress has a digital version.
  • Microfilm from 1825 to 1837 is available at KF 35 .U58.  There is an index at the beginning of each session of Congress.

Congressional Globe

  • The Library of Congress has a digital version.
  • Microfilm from 1834 – 1873 is available at KF 35. U58.  There is an index at the beginning of each session of Congress.

Abridgment of the Debates of Congress

This title consists of documents compiled from Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, & Congressional Globe.

  • Paper volumes from 1789 to 1956 are available on the third floor of the library at J 15.B4 1857.  There is an index at the end of each volume.

Congressional Record

  • Electronic text of the index  from 1983 to present is available on FDsys.
  • PDF issues of the daily edition from 1994 to present are available on FDsys.  The more recent issues are digitally signed.
  • Digitally signed PDF and text volumes of the bound edition from 1998 to 2002 (the most recent bound edition) are available on FDsys.
  • Paper issues of the daily edition from 1983 to present are in the Richey Reading Room at KF 35.U58 Its bimonthly indexes are shelved next to it.
  • Microfiche issues of the daily edition from 1977 to present are in the Richey Reading Room at KF 35 .U58 There is a cumulative index after each session.
  • Microfilm issues from 1874 to 1976 are in the Richey Reading Room at  KF 35 .U58.  There is an index for each session.

Congressional Calendars and Journals

Senate Calendar

  • Digitally signed PDF and text issues for the 104th-present Congress are available on FDsys.

Senate Journal

  • Microfiche issues from the 97th (1981-1982) to current Congress are in the Richey Reading Room at KF 45 .A22

House Calendar

  • Digitally signed PDF and text issues for the104th-present Congress are available on FDsys.
  • Paper issues from the 98th (1983-84) to current Congress are in the Richey Reading Room at KF 46 .A245

House Journal

  • Digitally signed PDF and text issues for 1992 to 1999 are available on FDsys.
  • PDF issues for 2000 to 2006 are available on FDsys in the “Additional Government Publications” area.
  • Microfiche issues for the 96th Congress (1979-80) – 103d Congress (1993-94) are in the Richey Reading Room at KF 46 .A22
  • CD-ROM volumes for the 102nd (1991-92) to current Congress are in the microform area of the Richey Reading Room at KF 46 .A22

Committee Calendars

  • Committee calendars are available in the “Committee” area of FDsys.  Each committee’s calendar is with its other materials.
  • Paper calendars are in the Richey Reading Room.  Senate calendars have call numbers beginning KF 21, and House calendars have call numbers beginning KF 22.

Presidential Documents

Vetoes

  • USCCAN (see “Statutory Law” section above).
  • Digitally Signed issues of the Compilation of Presidential Documents from 1992 to present are on FDsys.
  • Hein Online has all volumes of the Compilation of Presidential Documents.   This resource is only available on campus (or via Case VPN).
  • Paper issues for the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1981-2000) are on the third floor at J 80 .A284

Signing Statements

  • USCCAN (see “Statutory Law” section above).
  • Digitally Signed issues of the Compilation of Presidential Documents from 1992 to present are on FDsys.
  • Hein Online has all volumes of the Compilation of Presidential Documents.   This resource is only available on campus (or via Case VPN).
  • Paper issues for the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1981-2000) are on the third floor at J 80 .A284

Executive Orders

  • Code of Federal Regulation, Title 3 (see “Regulatory Law” section above).

 

This guide is adapted and expanded from a guide created by Deborah Dennison.